Pressure in Hawai’i…?

We have been here two weeks today and it is amazing. We are so blessed.

Over the past few days I have felt a bit grumpy. I realize I have a bit of a nagging feeling –  a pressure.  Maybe a pressure to begin to nest and get into a routine? Maybe a pressure to begin schooling again so we do not fall behind? Maybe a pressure to have some normalcy to life here? It could be all of these things…

I realize it may sound silly to feel pressure while being so blessed to live in such an amazing place. Leaving Oregon in the midst of a cold, rainy winter….leaving with too much to do to actually be able to accomplish it all…leaving in a bit of a frenzy trying to clean out every bit of stuff we had….all contribute to these feelings. Now we are here and I just want to relax and have fun. And yet, after two weeks I feel that it is time to buckle down a bit. Oh but wait, there is so much to see and do here on the Big Island! We love the warm days, the breeze, the yard, the neighborhood, the farmers market, the zoo, the ocean, the swimming, the snorkeling, playing in the sand, you name it! Every morning the birds sing us awake early and it feels as though we are being beckoned outside to enjoy some new adventure. I think of all the beaches there are yet to be discovered, the hikes to and from waterfalls, and the interesting beauty at Volcanoes National Park. The list goes on.

Another pressure comes from the constant weather changes. Although it is nearly always warm, one never knows when there will be rain or shine. Being that we live in an upland area, it is often sunny and beautiful in the early morning. So as the sun shines brightly, and the sky is a radiant blue, I feel the need to be outside. Knowing that the weather can change quickly I feel an urgency to get out there NOW!  My children feel the same.

While trying to establish ourselves in a new community, a new culture, and a new routine, along with schooling the children, getting organized and unpacking, cleaning sand the regular daily stuff…I feel that pressure rise up again. I know that when my teenage son comes in to say “Mom,  it is so sunny can we check out a skatepark today?” Or when my teenage daughter says, “We did not go swimming at the beach yesterday… can we go this morning while it is sunny?” I feel this desire to say yes, with a conflicting voice that says, ya know we have been off school for weeks and we need to reestablish our routine! Really, I would rather be at the beach, too!

So, we are making a slow transition this week. I am incorporating a bit of learning about Hawai’i in everything. We are learning the basics about speaking Hawaiian so we can at least read the street signs. We are reading a book about the Hawaiian monarchy and the older children are also reading other Hawaiian history. This should be a gradual start for us until next week. Then school begins again. Mostly, we are going to continue to pray and read the Word as a family every morning so that we continue in what is most important. The rest will unfold in the coming weeks. As for me feeling grumpy because I am feeling some pressure, I need to pray that the pressure will lift so that I can enjoy every second of being in this beautiful place with my beautiful family, experiencing life together and having the honor of being home with them and teaching them. Thank you Lord for such an awesome opportunity!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

