Delicious Spinach Dish with East Indian Spices

Melt half cube butter in pan with 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Dice one large onion and sauté in butter and oil for about 5 minutes
Continue to sauté and add the following ingredients:
4 cloves fresh, crushed garlic
Add 1 lb of fresh spinach (if not in season use frozen spinach thawed and drained)
1 cup plain yogurt (I like Nancy’s Yogurt made here in Oregon)
½ cup buttermilk (choose organic if possible, at least hormone free)
2 tsp curry (I prefer yellow in this dish – but feel free to experiment with your favorite flavor)
2 tsp turmeric
Pinch of sea salt to taste
Pinch of fine ground pepper (white, black or red – I like cayenne pepper because I like it hot)
Simmer for about 10 minutes

Add one cup half-and-half or whipping cream, and simmer 10 minutes
Add 1 cup crumbled feta cheese, gently stir in, and simmer 5 minutes

Serve with naan, pita bread, or any other bread favorite.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delicious Spinach Dish with East Indian Spices

  1. jaw123456 says:

    I created this dish with Saag Panir in mind. However, I did not necessarily have all the traditional ingredients. This dish is a delicious main dish served along side of a rice dish, and fruit platter. I have also served it as a side with a curry chicken dish. Enjoy the creamy texture, and full flavor. I especially enjoy it with whole grain pita bread.

Leave a Reply

