Hope and Healing

Life has its challenges and as the holiday season is underway, we are not exempt from pressures and pain that we experience in this fallen world.

My sweet baby, my youngest son, was diagnosed on December 31st with Hirschsprungs Disease. Although he has struggled for a long time with problems related to this disease, the diagnosis makes it seem so final and almost devastating.  Just as I begin to have a sense of feeling downtrodden, the Lord picks me up and encourages me by reminding me of how He is in ALL things.

Today, the Lord brought back to my mind a situation in which my children were able to see the evidence God’s hand in our lives. My husband had a car accident on Christmas Eve. An uninsured driver rear-ended him in the hustle and bustle of holiday traffic. He and I were actually on the phone with one another (before anyone blames the cell phone, they should know he was on his blue tooth :). He was hit so hard that I the earpiece, which wraps around his ear was thrown from his ear and lost in the car. I could hear the raucous sounds of him grunting, looking for the ear piece saying, “Hold on, Honey!” I knew he had been in a car accident. After several minutes I hung up and then attempted to cal him several times. I was never able to reach him. Until he came home.

He was sore from the accident and he was shaken. The back of his truck was smashed in. And our little four-year old daughter cried as he walked in the door. She crawled up next to him as he sat on the couch and she proceeded to look all around his neck. She was looking for the injury. However, there was nothing to be seen from the outside. We assumed he had whiplash. His neck was tender to the touch and he was hardly able to move without pain. Our little girl cried and kept saying, “Are you going to be okay Daddy?” We were somewhat surprised by her dramatic response and at first we were not sure what to do or say. We knew that God was more than able to take care of my husband’s health needs in the moment and beyond.  

My children gathered round with their little sister in the lead, as she was most concerned. She had all the faith in the world that God would heal her daddy and that he would be ok. The children prayed for their father, and by the time he went to bed that night he had zero pain. He had no pain the following day or any days thereafter. His neck and bruised, shaken body had been completely healed. God is so amazing! I can’t help but believe how much His heart is moved by children who pray.

In the same way, we have received this news about our one year old baby boy who has now been diagnosed with a disease that requires surgery. I trust God in knowing what our son needs. And my heart is pleading with the Lord to heal him completely. In the meantime, I am called to pray with the same concern and the childlike faith that my four-year old daughter exemplified. Hoping and believing for God’s best all along the way. Whether surgery is required or not, healing will need to happen for our little son. Please pray with us . 

As this years holiday season is coming to a close, I am reflecting on the faith of a child amidst the busy, happy times…filled with love and laughter and continual reminders of God’s amazing gifts to us.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

