Great Books

Sharing coffee and great conversation with a friend today, I was reminded of how desperate I am for a great book. It seems that most of the books I read are about parenting, homeschooling, adoption, attachment, and other excellent topics that promote self improvement and a deeper walk with God. I love the books I read. And, I am looking for something new to dive into that will bring encouragement to my spirit and stir my creativity! Please send suggestions….

Some time ago, I had the opportunity to read four great books by Francine Rivers. Keep in mind that I do not usually read novels. I have a stack of books by my bed, and they are all non-fiction. However, these books came highly recommended and once I started I could not stop.

The first was Redeeming Love. This book parallels the book of Hosea in the Bible. It is such a beautiful and heart wrenching story about deep wounds in an unredeemed life and how God beautifully orchestrates love, healing, and redemption. I don’t want to say too much, as I would not want to give away the details of this story. It should be noted that this book is not appropriate for children and contains difficult content. The prologue was very hard for me to read, and yet it gave significant information about the life-history of the woman in the story. 

Three other Francine River’s books that I read were from The Mark of the Lion Series. The first being A Voice in the Wind. These were excellent historical fiction novels about life in Rome during the rise of the early church and the persecution of the Jewish and Christian people. I would again suggest that the content in these books is not appropriate for children. The author has amazing insight in character development. As I read I recognized many parallels between our American society and the debauchery in Rome. Beautifully written.

*I no longer have these books in hand, so please forgve me if I have made mistakes in any of the titles. Happy Reading!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

