Busy!

The past two weeks have been like a whirlwind…busy, busy, busy! Too many appointments and preparations, to keep the peace in our home. It has felt as though we are coming and going all the time, with no time to rest and re-group together as a family. This busy life causes me to feel stressed! I have a longing to spend time with my Creator, be an encouragement to my husband and bless my children. 

Although we have been doing some schoolwork all summer to keep up on our skills, we officially started the 2008-2009 school year this past Monday. What a busy couple of days it has been! Creating lesson plans, picking up new supplies, laundry, receiving books that have been ordered, completing tasks around the house, laundry, attempting to complete tasks around the house, attending meetings, taking the children to doctors appointments and other various commitments that we have during the week, laundry, cooking, cleaning, praying, laundry, completing work, correcting work, yard work, garden sitting, laundry, errands, grocery shopping, menu planning, bible study, laundry.

My struggles this week were all around time (or lack there of) and my lousy attitude that did not want to choose joy. I found that there were mornings I did not want to get up as early as usual to get into the Word out of sheer exhaustion. Mornings when I longed for the children to sleep in so that I could get into the Word just a little later than usual- after I slept in a bit of course. Several times in which I found it difficult to stop and enjoy the moment of seeing my children make a new discovery – whether in their school work or other moments in our day that should have been enjoyable.

My life is full of the evidence of God’s handiwork. Why is it then that I have let crazy, busy times hijack my joy? I am praying that this is a new week…God’s mercies are new and His grace is sufficient to cover all the situations that pop up in my life. I will choose joy. I am thankful for all He has given me. I will take time to stop this week, no matter what, and slow down enough to enjoy those moments with my children that so quickly pass, to stop and leave notes for my husband that will encourage him, sleep well, enjoy my life, my Lord, His Word and ALL that He has blessed me with.

Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:11-12

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Busy!

  1. Jack says:

    HA – Renee and I live in the same world. I began to notice that my students and donors get better treatment than my family. Yuck – I hate the fact that the hardest people to be christian to is family.

    Your kids are beautiful.

  2. jaw123456 says:

    Hey Jack! SO great to hear from you! Thankfully God’s blessings aren’t retracted when we make mistakes. I am having a better week this week. My family is patient with me – thank goodness. Please tell Renee hello for me.
    Love, Jessica

  3. Heather says:

    Hey Jess –
    Sounds like a steamroller of a week 🙂 You are an amazing mom, wife and friend and God’s grace will be sufficient for you at such a time as this. His love NEVER fails us. Continue to press in my dear friend and He will continue to pour into your life and give you everything you need to do to finish the race that has been started.
    I love you

  4. Jessica says:

    Amen! His love never fails…Thank you Heather for your sweet words (even from the other side of the nation). Have a great time in Boston. See you next Friday! All my love…

  5. Emily says:

    Dear friend, I am so eager for an update on your blog! Your fans in BLOG-land are looking forward to your next update. 🙂

  6. Jessica says:

    Thank you Emily. I am working on a couple ideas. I feel as though life has a way of stealing any extra moments…then a few weeks pass before I even know it! I will have something new soon.

  7. Jessica~I love the photos that you’ve added and I know life is crazy and possibly overwhelming right now, but I hope you will continue with your blog in the future because you are definitely gifted in this area my friend.

    Please let us know how we can best pray for your family! I know that since I’m not in the current Bible Study I feel a little out of touch with prayer requests. You are dear to my heart and I hope you remember that you are surrounded by people who love you and pray for your whole family!

    Love,

    The ‘other’ Jessica 🙂

Leave a Reply

