Wholesome?

Wholesome. This word seems to be one that is seldom used in our culture today. Because we are not accustomed to hearing it in everyday speech, we may hear it and have thoughts of yesteryear.

Webster’s Encylopedic Unabridged Dictionary (1983) defines wholesome (adj.) 1. conducive to moral or general well-being; 2. conducive to bodily health; healthful; 3. suggestive of physical or moral health esp. in appearance.

I desire to see wholesome-ness in every facet of my life. I speak to my children about using wholesome talk with one another, about blessing others with our words. I encourage those around me, children and adults, to be careful about what we see and hear. To choose to think on things that are wholesome and lovely. To fill our lives with godliness, purity, holiness and a love for wholesome things.  I appreciate the connection in this defintion between moral and physical well being.  In the same way that I want my daily walk to be wholesome, I also want the food I choose to prepare for my family to be wholesome as well. I want my children to be nourished physically, spiritually and emotionally.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me–put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:8-9

Whatever we spend our time on will be reflected in our lives. My desire is that these attributes would be evident in every part of my life. In the way I choose to spend my time, in the words that I speak , in the love that I show and in the deepest part of who I am. 

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14

Lord, help me to always live in a manner worthy of my calling. Thank you for the high price You paid for me. I desire to be whole and to live a wholesome life. Thank you for Your grace Lord when I have fallen short. My heart is Yours.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wholesome?

  1. Jewels says:

    I absolutely agree. The wholesome life is a difficult one that takes much discipline. I imagine though many desire it, they dont fulfil it. In you I see true conviction where it is concerned and that’s where I believe desires become a reality. I am proud of you for making your convictions a reality and encouraging those along the way who want the same in their lives. Your family is truly blessed to have you as their Mom. You are anazing!

  2. jaw123456 says:

    Thank you for the sweet compliments Jewels. I absolutely agree, with conviction comes the desire to carry things out in this life. Love to you!

Leave a Reply

