German Pancakes or Dutch Babies = DELICIOUS!

My friend Heather gave me a recipe for this delightful dish! I have served these pancakes many different ways. It is a favorite at potlucks and brunches. Most of all it is my children’s favorite breakfast dish! I have taken this recipe and made it my own over the past 14 years.  

Several friends have been asking me for this recipe and I keep telling them it is on my blog…lo and behold, it was not here! So, here it is…

Pre-heat oven to 400

In 15×9 glass baking dish melt 1 stick REAL butter in oven as it heats. You can lessen the amount of butter if you like. However the extra butter stays on the top and helps to create a wonderful flavor and topping when served.

With an electric mixer, beat ingredients together until smoothly blended adding only one ingredient at a time.

9 eggs
2 c milk
2 cups flour – gluten free, rice flour works GREAT!
3/4 to 1 c maple syrup, brown rice syrup, sucanat, brown sugar or raw agave nectar (*should you choose to use a liquid sweetner, remember to add a couple more tablespoons of flour )                                                                                                                                               1 -1/2 tsp vanilla
Pour blended ingredients into the pan with melted butter and bake for 15-20 minutes until sides and corners are golden brown. Sides and corners will double or triple in height. The pancakes should be solid but soft in the center. The consistency a cross between that of a crepe (but much thicker) and somewhat custard-like. 

You can top this with berries, maple syrup, a sprinkling of powdered sugar, or squeeze fresh lemon over the top…lemon, powdered sugar, and the butter make a great combination (salty, sweet, and tart – YUM!). My favorite is without any toppings, while my children prefer them with the sprinkling of powdered sugar.

ENJOY!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to German Pancakes or Dutch Babies = DELICIOUS!

  1. chicks4612 says:

    sounds good, and much easier than the way we do pancakes …… it can take me an hour to stands and pan fry enough pancakes for or family.

    • jaw123456 says:

      Yes, with a large family this is a much faster way to make breakfast…and they are yummy! Let me know if you try them :)

Leave a Reply

